Antje Majewski
“The Meteorite” 2011

Antje Majewski, The Meteorite, 2011, HD, Farbe, Sound, 20:56 Min.

 

The video work The Meteorite is part of a series of philosophical conversations about “talking” objects. Antje Majewski travels with meteorite researcher Lu Ling to the Chinese village of Yang Wu Sha, which keeps a large meteorite, called the “Iron Ox”, for centuries.

The inhabitants tell the artist that the meteorite was discovered during the founding of the village. The principles of Feng Shui demanded water, so the villagers built a fish pond. While digging up the earth a meteorite was found. The community then decided to place the rock in front of the ancestral temple. For many of them, the meteorite symbolises good luck and protection from evil forces. Others, however, see it above all as a source of misfortune, referring to the surface mining in the nearby zinc-lead mines, which are progressively polluting the groundwater. Thus, the village is on the verge of being relocated by the government.

Antje Majewski (*1968 in Marl) lives and works in Berlin. From 1986 to 1992 she studied art history, history and philosophy in Cologne, Florence and Berlin. Majewski works with painting, video and performance, often in collaborative contexts. Her works are based on anthropological questions, which she relates to concrete cultural and historical situations. Since 1991, she has had numerous solo and group exhibitions, including at the Kestner Gesellschaft Hannover 2020, Gropius Bau, Berlin 2019, Hamburger Bahnhof, Berlin 2018, Centre for Contemporary Art, Tel Aviv 2016, Villa Romana, Florence 2012 or Kunsthaus Graz, 2011.

Lockdown Programme

From 3.2.: Omer Fast, The Invisible Hand, 2018

From 10.2.: Isabell Heimerdinger, Hana Ikebana, 2014

From 17.2.: Anri Sala, If and Only If, 2018

From 24.2.: Fischer & el Sani, Snow Division, 2010

From 3.3.: Antje Majewski, The Meteorite, 2011

From 10.3.: Erik Schmidt, Cut/Uncut, 2015

From 17.3.: Stefan Panhans, Freeroam À Rebours, Mod#I.1, 2016

From 24.3.: Julian Rosefeldt, Deep Gold, 2013/2014

Antje Majewski
„The Meteorite“ 2011

Antje Majewski, The Meteorite, 2011, HD, Farbe, Sound, 20:56 Min.

 

Die Videoarbeit The Meteorite ist Teil einer Reihe philosophischer Gespräche über „sprechende“ Objekte. Antje Majewski reist darin mit der Meteoritenforscherin Lu Ling in das chinesische Dorf Yang Wu Sha, das seit Jahrhunderten einen großen Meteoriten, den „Eisernen Ochsen“, aufbewahrt.

Die BewohnerInnen berichten der Künstlerin, dass der Meteorit während der Gründung des Dorfes entdeckt wurde. Die Prinzipien des Feng Shui verlangten nach Wasser, sodass das Dorf einen Fischteich anlegte. Dabei wurde beim Umgraben der Erde ein Meteorit gefunden. Die Dorfgemeinde beschloss daraufhin, das Gestein vor dem Ahnentempel zu platzieren. Für viele von Ihnen steht der Meteorit bis heute für Glück und Schutz vor bösen Kräften. Andere sehen in ihm jedoch vor allem eine Quelle des Unheils und meinen damit den Tagebau in den anliegenden Zink-Blei-Minen, die das Grundwasser allmählich verunreinigen. So steht das Dorf kurz vor einer Umsiedlung durch die Regierung.

Antje Majewski (*1968 in Marl) lebt und arbeitet in Berlin. Von 1986 bis 1992 studierte sie Kunstgeschichte, Geschichte und Philosophie in Köln, Florenz und Berlin. Majewski arbeitet mit Malerei, Video und Performance, oft in kollaborativen Kontexten. Ihren Arbeiten liegen anthropologische Fragestellungen zugrunde, die sie auf konkrete kulturelle und historische Situationen bezieht. Seit 1991 hatte sie zahlreiche Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen, u.a. in der Kestner Gesellschaft Hannover 2020, Gropius Bau, Berlin 2019, Hamburger Bahnhof, Berlin 2018, Centre for Contemporary Art, Tel Aviv 2016, Villa Romana, Florenz 2012 oder im Kunsthaus Graz, 2011.

Lockdownprogramm

Ab 3.2.: Omer Fast, The Invisible Hand, 2018

Ab 10.2.: Isabell Heimerdinger, Hana Ikebana, 2014

Ab 17.2.: Anri Sala, If and Only If, 2018

Ab 24.2.: Fischer & el Sani, Snow Division, 2010

Ab 3.3.: Antje Majewski, The Meteorite, 2011

Ab 10.3.: Erik Schmidt, Cut/Uncut, 2015

Ab 17.3.: Stefan Panhans, Freeroam À Rebours, Mod#I.1, 2016

Ab 24.3.: Julian Rosefeldt, Deep Gold, 2013/2014

Pressebeiträge

Deutschlandfunk Kultur, FAZIT, 6.2.21, Interview mit Olaf Stüber, Videoart at Midnight

rbb Inforadio, 12.2.21, Beitrag von Barbara Wiegand

rbb radioeins, Art Aber Fair, 17.2.21, Beitrag von Cora Knoblauch