Nina Fischer & Maroan el Sani
“Freedom of Movement” 2019

Fischer & el Sani, Freedom of Movement, 2019, HD Video, 29 Min., © Fischer & el Sani und VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2021

 

The film refers to the first Olympic victory by a black African in Rome in 1960. At that time, the Ethiopian Abebe Bikila ran a marathon barefoot.  Thus, he became a sporting legend as well as a symbol of an Africa liberating itself from colonialism. Fischer & el Sani have had this largely forgotten victory re-enacted by a contemporary athlete, also barefoot but without an audience. The course ends amidst Rome’s rationalist architecture of the EUR compound built in 1938. Here, the contemporary runner encounters a group of refugees and immigrants who are singing a song demanding their right to freedom of movement and to be accepted in another country.

The film consists of three chapters. In the first chapter, sequences of the nocturnal barefoot run overlap with historical film footage, with archive material about the construction of fascist monumental architecture, such as the model city EUR, which was built under Mussolini, as was the Foro Italico sports complex in Rome. The second chapter shows the re-enactment of the historic marathon in the streets of Rome today, performed by a black runner. In the third chapter, a group of African refugees climb the stairs of the Colosseo Quadrato in the EUR area and sing as a choir on the roof about their own identity and about the country they now live in.

With Freedom of Movement, Fischer & el Sani explore the complexity of ideological, colonial and architectural implications of Abebe Bikila’s symbolic Olympic marathon victory and its impact up to this day.

Nina Fischer (*1965 in Emden) and Maroan el Sani (*1966 in Duisburg) have been working together since 1993 in film and photography projects that focus primarily on urban spaces and collective memory. As a duo, they have participated in numerous international exhibitions, including Manifesta 13, Marseille 2020, Videonale, Bonn 2019, Media City Seoul Biennale 2014, 2012, Istanbul Biennale 2007, Liverpool Biennale 1999, and the Berlin Biennale 1998. Fischer and el Sani live and work in Berlin.

Here you can read more about the project and the artists. 

On 28 May at 7.30 pm there will be an artist talk between Nina Fischer, Maroan el Sani and Katja Blomberg in the sculpture park. Further information will be published soon.

Video Programme

From 7.4.: Appropriation takes you on a weird ride, 2020

From 14.4.: Freedom of Movement, 2019

From 21.4.: Identity’s Rule of Three, 2016

From 28.4.: Contaminated Home, 2021

From 5.5.: Spelling Dystopia, 2008

From 12.5.: The Rise, 2007

From 19.5.: Toute la mémoire du monde – Alles Wissen der Welt, 2006

From 26.5.: Klub 2000, Rom – Paris – Marzahn, 1998

From 2.6.: Be supernatural, 1995

Nina Fischer & Maroan el Sani 
„Freedom of Movement“ 2019

Fischer & el Sani, Freedom of Movement, 2019, HD Video, 29 Min.,  © Fischer & el Sani und VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2021

 

Der Film bezieht sich auf den ersten Olympia-Sieg eines Schwarzafrikaners 1960 in Rom. Damals war der Äthiopier Abebe Bikila barfuß einen Marathon gelaufen. Auch deshalb wurde er zur Sportlegende sowie zum Symbol eines sich selbst vom Kolonialismus befreienden Afrikas. Fischer & el Sani haben diesen weitgehend in Vergessenheit geratenen Sieg durch einen zeitgenössischen Athleten nachlaufen lassen, ebenfalls barfuß, aber ohne Publikum. Die Strecke endet inmitten Roms rationalistischer Architektur des 1938 errichteten EUR-Geländes. Hier trifft der heutige Läufer auf eine Gruppe von Geflüchteten und ImmigrantInnen, die in einem Song ihr Recht auf Bewegungsfreiheit einfordern oder in einem anderen Land aufgenommen zu werden.

Der Film besteht aus drei Kapiteln. Im ersten Kapitel überlagern sich Sequenzen des nächtlichen Barfußlaufs mit historischem Filmmaterial, mit Archivmaterial über den Bau faschistischer Monumentalarchitektur, wie der Modellstadt EUR, die ebenso wie der Sportkomplex Foro Italico in Rom unter Mussolini entstand. Das zweite Kapitel zeigt das Re-Enactment des historischen Marathons in den heutigen Straßen Roms, ausgeführt von einem schwarzen Läufer. Im dritten Kapitel erklimmt eine Gruppe afrikanischer Geflüchteter die Treppen des Colosseo Quadrato im EUR-Gelände und singt als Chor auf dem Dach über ihre eigene Identität und über das Land, in dem sie jetzt leben. 

Mit Freedom of Movement untersuchen Fischer & el Sani die Komplexität von ideologischen, kolonialen und architektonischen Implikationen des symbolträchtigen Marathon-Olympiasiegs von Abebe Bikila und dessen Auswirkung bis in die Gegenwart.

Nina Fischer (*1965 in Emden) und Maroan el Sani (*1966 in Duisburg) arbeiten seit 1993 in Film- und Fotoprojekten zusammen, die sich vorrangig mit urbanen Räumen und dem kollektiven Gedächtnis beschäftigen. Als Duo haben sie an zahlreichen internationalen Ausstellungen teilgenommen, u.a. an der Manifesta 13, Marseille 2020, Videonale, Bonn 2019, Media City Seoul Biennale 2014, 2012, Istanbul Biennale 2007, Liverpool Biennale 1999 und der Berlin Biennale 1998. Fischer und el Sani leben und arbeiten in Berlin. 

Mehr zum Projekt und zu Nina Fischer & Maroan el Sani lesen Sie hier

Am 28. Mai um 19.30 Uhr findet ein Künstlergespräch zwischen Nina Fischer, Maroan el Sani und Katja Blomberg im Skulpturenpark statt. Weitere Informationen folgen in Kürze.

Videoprogramm

Ab 7.4.: Appropriation takes you on a weird ride, 2020

Ab 14.4.: Freedom of Movement, 2019

Ab 21.4.: Der Dreisatz der Identität, 2016

Ab 28.4.: Contaminated Home, 2021

Ab 5.5.: Spelling Dystopia, 2008

Ab 12.5.: The Rise, 2007

Ab 19.5.: Toute la mémoire du monde – Alles Wissen der Welt, 2006

Ab 26.5.: Klub 2000, Rom – Paris – Marzahn, 1998

Ab 2.6.: Be supernatural, 1995

Pressebeiträge

Interview mit Nina Fischer, rbb radioeins, 8.4.2021

Kulturtipps, Deutschlandfunk Kultur, 17.4.2021